Enyimba joins Al Ahly, Espérance, others for African Football League

Enyimba in action at the CAF Champions League. Credit: Imago

Enyimba joins Al Ahly, Espérance, others for African Football League

Hassan Abdulsalam 20:35 - 29.08.2023

The Inaugural African Football League will feature 8 of Africa’s most famous

Nine-time Nigeria Premier Football League has been listed with seven others big clubs in Africa for the maiden edition of the African Football League (AFL).

The AFL is designed to showcase the best of African club football and provide football fans in Africa and around the world, the opportunity to see and enjoy the very best of the beautiful game on the African Continent with the Africa’s highest ranked football clubs selected to partcipate.

The League is a collaboration between CAF and FIFA.

The eight participating Clubs

Nigeria’s champion, Enyimba Football Club will be leading clubs from the Central-West Region with DRC’s Tout Puissant Mazembe.

Enyimba bowed of Champions League. Credit: Ahly/Instagram

Egyptian giants Al Ahly Football Club, Tunisia’s Espérance Sportive de Tunis and Wydad Athletic Club from Morocco are the football clubs from the North Region.

Mamelodi Sundowns Football Club from South Africa, Angola’s Atlético Petróleos de Luanda and Tanzania’s Simba Sports Club are the football clubs from the South-East Region.

AFL League Format

The inaugural AFL fixtures are organized on a home-and-away basis. The quarter-finals will be knock-out and will be followed by the semi-finals and final, all of which will be played over two legs.


This historic Inaugural edition of the AFL will take place over four weeks, kicking off with the Opening Ceremony and the first match on October 20th in Dar es Salam, Tanzania.

The semi-finals will take place between October 29th and November 1st.

The final matches which will determine the winner of the Inaugural AFL competition will take place on November 5 and 11 2023.