Delta Queens to begin CAF Champions League journey August 18

Delta Queens to begin CAF Champions League journey August 18

Hassan Abdulsalam 09:29 - 07.07.2023

After 11 years, Delta Queens reclaimed the NWFL Premiership title with an unbeaten record.

Nigeria Women’s Football League (NWFL) Premiership champions Delta Queens will begin their journey into the CAF Women's Champions League on August 18 at the WAFU Zone B.

The WAFU Zone B Zonal Qualification will take place in Benin City from August 18 to August 31.

Nigeria is hosting the WAFU Zone B qualifiers in Edo State, with teams from Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Benin Republic, Ghana, Niger Republic, and Togo vying to represent the zone in the CAF Women Champions League billed to be held in Cote d’Ivoire.

According to the draw held on Wednesday, Delta Queens are drawn in Group A alongside Union Sportive of Burkina Faso, Athletico of Cote d’Ivoire and Sam Nelly of Benin Republic.

Delta Queens wins NWFL

In Group B, Ampem Darkoa from Ghana, As Garde of Niger, and Friends of the World, which represent Togo.

At the Mohammed VI Complex in Rabat, Morocco, the draw for the Cote d'Ivoire qualifications for the CAF Women's Champions League took place in public.

Morocco’s AS Far are the defending champions, having clinched the crown on home soil, beating holders Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies.

Nigeria’s Bayelsa Queens won the bronze medal.

Related content