Ofili wins first SEC 200m title, did not finish 4x400m relay race

Favour Ofili was a standout athlete for Louisiana State University

NCAA Ofili wins first SEC 200m title, did not finish 4x400m relay race

Funmilayo Fameso 08:00 - 26.02.2023

Favour Ofili won her first SEC 200m gold medal, says she wants to go faster than her African Record of 22.36s.

Favour Ofili is the new South Eastern Conference (SEC) 200m Champion after clocking the fastest time of 22.52s in the second final at the championships.

The Nigerian 200m indoor and outdoor record holder needed to go faster than McKenzie Long's 22.67s run in the first semifinal, which she did conveniently to win her first SEC indoor title in the event, after losing to Abby Steiner in the past two seasons.

Favour Ofili wins her first SEC 200m indoor title

Ofili had competed in the 60m final earlier, where she surprisingly finished sixth with a time of 7.24s, her slowest time in the event this season.

Though most expected her to go faster than her African Record (AR) and a then collegiate leading time of 22.36s clocked two weeks ago, it wasn't to be on the night.

"It's good to come here and win the Gold. I understand the time isn't that fast, but we are working on getting faster," Ofili said in an on-track interview posted on her school's Twitter page.

"The time is going to show one day, but I'm happy I am living here with something," she concluded.

Ofili on the podium receiving her 200m Gold medal

The Louisiana State University (LSU) junior will hope to shake off the disappointment of not handing over the baton while running the first leg for their school's 4x400m relay team (she did not finish the race) when she competes at the NCAA Indoor Championships in two weeks in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Ofili will be gunning to win the title ahead of the University of Texas Julien Alfred, who ran a blistering collegiate leading time of 22.26s in her BIG 12 Indoor Championships final for a deserving Gold medal.

If she does this, the speedster will become the first Nigerian athlete to win the prestigious title since Divine Oduduru in 2019.