Omala dismayed after being dropped from Harambee Stars squad

FOOTBALL Omala dismayed after being dropped from Harambee Stars squad

Festus Chuma 15:54 - 23.03.2023

The final squad is expected to leave for Iran on Sunday.

Gor Mahia striker Benson Omala has remained positive after being dropped from the Harambee Stars squad for the upcoming friendly against Iran.

Omala, who is currently leading the race for the Golden Boot in the league with 19 goals, was among nine players axed as coach Engin Firat named his final squad ahead of the friendly set for Tuesday 28 March in Tehran.

Benson Omala in training

The forward thanked coach Engin Firat for giving him the call-up, adding that he was disappointed for not making it to the final list.

"I want to thank my coach plus the technical bench for the call-up to the national team. The call-up was an achievement, showing me that the coach believes I could help my country.

Unfortunately, I did not make it to the final squad; yes, it is hurting, but what I have learned in camp for the past few days is that it will help me big time. I wish my teammates all the best as they prepare to play against Iran," Omala wrote on his Facebook page.

Other players dropped are midfielder Collins Sichenje, striker Masud Juma and Bandari duo of Andrew Juma and Mohamed Siraj, Nzoia Sugar's Hassan Beja and Joseph Mwangi, KCB defender Maurice Ojwang and AFC Leopards goalkeeper Levis Opiyo.

Harambee Stars are set to leave on Sunday for Tehran, where the match will be played at the Azadi Stadium, with kickoff set at 7:00 pm Kenyan time.

Traveling squad:

Goalkeepers: Patrick Matasi (Kenya Police), Ian Otieno (Zesco), Bryne Odhiambo (KCB)

Defenders: Joseph Okumu (Gent), Brian Mandela (Sundowns), Johnstone Omurwa (Estrela), Eric Ouma (AIK), David Ochieng (Mathare United), Daniel Anyembe (Viborg), Daniel Sakari (Tusker), Abud Omar (Kenya Police)

Midfielders: Amos Nondi (Ararat), Richard Odada (Philadelphia Union), Teddy Akumu (Sagan Tosu), Alpha Onyango (Gor Mahia), Kenneth Muguna (Azam), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Duke Abuya (Kenya Police), Wilkims Ochieng (FC Koper), Alvin Mang'eni (Kenya Police), Victor Omune (AFC Leopards)

Strikers: Elvis Rupia (Kenya Police), Alfred Scriven (IL Hodd), Michael Olunga (Al Duhail)

Related content