Maddison beats Awoniyi, others to EPL Player of the Month for August

Tottenham's new signing James Maddison scored one goal and assisted two in three matches in August. (Photo Credit: Spurs/X)

Maddison beats Awoniyi, others to EPL Player of the Month for August

Ayoola Kelechi 11:38 - 15.09.2023

Despite scoring in every game in August, Nigeria’s Taiwo Awoniyi did not do enough to beat James Maddison to the Premier League’s Player of the Month award

Tottenham’s James Maddison has beaten off competition from Nigeria’s Taiwo Awoniyi as well as Cameroon’s Bryan Mbeumo to win the Premier League’s Player of the Month award for August.

Maddison clinches monthly award

Maddison was superb in the opening month of the new season as he settled into life at the Tottenham Hotspurs stadium, scoring once and providing two assists for Spurs in the first three games of the campaign.

His efforts have helped Tottenham cope with the departure of former club captain Harry Kane and the England international has contributed immensely to Spurs being second on the Premier League table, just two points off leaders Manchester City.

Maddison has already started staking a claim for the September award as well, with the 26-year-old midfielder already starring in Tottenham’s first match of the month before the International break.

Maddison beats Awoniyi and Co. to first POTM award of the season

Super Eagles striker Taiwo Awoniyi was also in contention for the player of the month award after scoring three goals in three games in August.

Awoniyi scored in every match during the month in review,, with goals against Arsenal, Sheffield United, and Manchester United putting the Nottingham Forest striker in the mix for the award.

var widgetLoaderConfig = widgetLoaderConfig || { CDN_URL: '', APP_LINK: 'desktop', API_URL: '', API_KEY: '2f852b4de2f3a5cf3188e74b33087bb4:2c18422f8e826a7d11aeed52edb2449e', LANG: 'en', REQUEST_INTERVAL: 30, ENABLE_BET_SLIP: false, AUTHOR: false, THEME: "light", TOURNAMENT_ORDER: "pulse_nigeria", LINK_OPTIONS_V2: { 'player' : { 'url': '/football/player/{playerId}' }, 'team' : { 'url': '/football/{teamId}' }, 'tournament': { 'url': '/football/competition/{tournamentId}' }, 'match': { 'url' : '/football/match/{matchId}', 'sort': { 'criteria': 'alphabetically', 'direction': 'asc' } }, 'configuration': { 'newWindow': false }, 'standings_tournament': { 'url': '/football/competition/{tournamentId}/standings' } } }; if (!document.querySelector('script[src=""]')) { window.setTimeout(function () { let scriptCss = document.createElement('link'); scriptCss.href = ''; scriptCss.rel = 'stylesheet'; scriptCss.type = 'text/css'; document.body.appendChild(scriptCss); let scriptTag = document.createElement('script'); scriptTag.src = ''; scriptTag.defer = true; scriptTag.onload = function () { window.setTimeout(function () { new SMPWidgetsLoader(widgetLoaderConfig); }, 200); }; document.head.appendChild(scriptTag); }, 0); } else { new SMPWidgetsLoader(widgetLoaderConfig); }

In the end, Maddison was selected as the winner in a tough battle for the prize that also included Brentford’s Mbeumo, West Ham’s Jarred Bowen, Manchester City’s Rodri, and Brighton’s Kaoru Mitoma.

Related content