Bukayo Saka among Premier League stars shining in 2023 Ballon d'Or nominees list


FOOTBALL Bukayo Saka among Premier League stars shining in 2023 Ballon d'Or nominees list

Festus Chuma 21:00 - 06.09.2023

Bukayo Saka earns recognition among Premier League stars on the prestigious Ballon d'Or 2023 nominees list, showcasing his outstanding talent.

Football enthusiasts around the world have eagerly awaited the return of the prestigious Ballon d'Or Awards, and the excitement reached its zenith as France Football unveiled the list of nominees for the 2023 edition.

 With an array of talent across multiple categories, the footballing world is once again abuzz with anticipation.


In the men's Ballon d'Or category, a star-studded 30-man shortlist has been revealed, showcasing the cream of the crop in the world of football.

Among the luminaries are Lionel Messi, whose stellar performances led Argentina to World Cup glory in 2022, and Erling Haaland, the talismanic striker who played a pivotal role in Manchester City's historic treble-winning campaign. 

The defending champion, Karim Benzema, is also back in contention, aiming to retain his title against fierce competition.

On the women's side, the Ballon d'Or race promises to be equally riveting. Hinata Miyazawa, the Women's World Cup Golden Boot winner, is a standout name among the 20 nominees. 

Her goal-scoring prowess and undeniable talent have earned her a well-deserved spot on the list.

 Another rising star is Colombian sensation Linda Caicedo, who has taken the footballing world by storm with her remarkable performances.

In the goalkeeping realm, the Yashin Trophy is up for grabs, with some of the finest shot-stoppers vying for the honor. 

Emiliano Martinez, a World Cup winner with Argentina, headlines the list. His heroics between the posts during the tournament were nothing short of exceptional.

 Joining him is Ederson, the custodian of Manchester City's treble-winning team, and Marc Andre Ter Stegen, who earned the La Liga Golden Glove for his outstanding displays.

The Kopa Trophy, which celebrates the best Under-21 player, features a dynamic group of talents. Gavi and Pedri, both hailing from Barcelona, return to the spotlight after impressive performances in previous seasons. 

Real Madrid's Jude Bellingham, Bayern Munich's Jamal Musiala, and Manchester United's Rasmus Hojlund are also in contention for this prestigious award, highlighting the rich pool of young talent emerging in the footballing world.

One name that is capturing the imagination of fans and pundits alike is Bukayo Saka. The young English prodigy has enjoyed a meteoric rise at Arsenal and has now made his mark on the international stage.

Saka's inclusion in the Ballon d'Or nominees list is a testament to his exceptional skills and immense potential.

 The 21-year-old winger has become a symbol of hope for English football, dazzling spectators with his dribbling ability, precise passing, and an uncanny knack for finding the back of the net.

Saka's versatility is one of his most valuable assets, as he can seamlessly switch between different positions on the pitch. 

His ability to adapt to various roles, whether as a winger, attacking midfielder, or even wing-back, has endeared him to fans and managers alike.

 Moreover, his maturity on and off the field belies his age, making him a role model for aspiring young footballers. 

Men's Ballon d'Or

Jude Bellingham, Karim Benzema, Kevin De Bruyne, Josko Gvardiol, Randal Kolo Muani, Jamal Musiala, Andre Onana, Bukayo Saka, Mohamed Salah, Bernardo Silva.

Women's Ballon d'Or

Aitana Bonmati, Millie Bright, Linda Caicedo, Olga Carmona, Rachel Daly, Debinha, Mary Earps, Patricia Guijarro, Yui Hasegawa, Amanda Ilestedt, Diani Kadidiatou, Sam Kerr, Mapi Leon, Katie McCabe, Hinata Miyazawa, Lena Oberdorf, Asisat Oshoala, Ewa Pajor, Salma Paralluelo, Alexandra Popp, Hayley Raso, Alba Redondo, Guro Reiten, Wendie Renard, Fridolina Rolfo, Jill Roord, Khadija Shaw, Sophia Smith, Georgia Stanway, Daphne Van Domselaar.

 Kopa Trophy 

Alejandro Balde, Jude Bellingham, Eduardo Camavinga, Gavi, Rasmus Hojlund, Jamal Musiala, Pedri, Xavi Simons, Antonio Silva, Elye Wahi 

Yashin Trophy

 Yassine Bounou, Thibaut Courtois, Ederson, Dominik Livakovic, Mike Maignan, Emiliano Martinez, Andre Onana, Aaron Ramsdale, Brice Samba, Marc-Andre Ter Stegen