Winners emerge in Edo Cricket Super Four

CRICKET Winners emerge in Edo Cricket Super Four

Hassan Abdulsalam 21:07 - 30.04.2023

No Limit, Smashers won the third edition of the Super Four

Winners have emerged at the Edo State Cricket League after the conclusion of the Super Four.

No Limit and Smashers won the third edition of the Super Four in the men's and women's categories.

No limits
No limits cricket club before the final game

No Limit Cricket Club upset two-time winners U17 Cricket Club to lift the Super Four trophy, while Smashers won the female title over Delta Force.

Smashers of Akwa Ibom defeated Delta Force of Asaba by 53 runs in the South-South Female League Super Four that were played side by side.

After dumping Dolphin Cricket Club, UNIBEN Cricket Club took third place in the Edo Cricket League.

The competitions were held at Iyoba College and the Edo Boys High School High-Performance Center in Benin, Edo State.

Akpata applaud players for their performance

The President of the Nigeria Cricket Federation, Uyi Akpata, said that he is sure the level of cricket on display would earn some of the players a look in for the national camp that would soon be open.

Uyi Akpata
President of the Nigeria Cricket Federation (NCF), Uyi Akpata

“The quality of the matches in this Super Four has been revealing. I am sure the technical team of the national teams are here and taking notes of some exceptional talents that might get looked into," he said.

Meanwhile, the captain of the No Limit Cricket Club, Afani Abdulhamid, said it was a pleasure to be crowned the winner.

He said, “When we left the first inning with 88 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in 20 overs, it seemed we had locked ourselves in a tight corner. We had to dig in deep within us to produce the 18.2 all out at 68 runs that gave us the victory.”

No Limit Cricket Club
No Limit Cricket Club

The national team coach and high-performance manager, Steve Tikolo, was present along with other dignitaries during the final game.

Related content