Premier League Hall of Fame: Toure, Ferdinand, and Cech among 15 shortlisted

FOOTBALL Premier League Hall of Fame: Toure, Ferdinand, and Cech among 15 shortlisted

Kiplagat Sang • 15:15 - 30.03.2023

They are on course to join 16 former players already inducted.

Former Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure and former Manchester United defender Rio Ferdinand have been shortlisted to be inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

The two former league stars are among 15 former players who have been nominated to join the competition’s hallowed list.

There have been 16 previous inductees, and on Wednesday, legendary managers Sir Alex Ferguson and Arsene Wenger became the first managers to be honoured.

David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Eric Cantona, Thierry Henry, Roy Keane, Frank Lampard, Steven Gerrard, and Alan Shearer have already been inducted.

The 2022 inductees are Sergio Aguero, Didier Drogba, Vincent Kompany, Wayne Rooney, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes, Patrick Vieira, and Ian Wright.

Meanwhile, other nominees on the 2023 list include former Arsenal and England captain Tony Adams, who won the Premier League and FA Cup double with the Gunners in 1998 and 2002.

Former Liverpool stars Robbie Fowler and Michael Owen have also been nominated. The inductees will receive a personalized medallion, engraved with the year of their induction.

Additionally, a £10,000 donation will be made by the Premier League to a charity of their choice.

The Hall of Fame was set up to celebrate individuals who had exceptional success and made important contributions to the Premier League since it was established 31 years ago.

2023 nominees:

Tony Adams

Sol Campbell

Michael Carrick

Petr Cech

Andrew Cole

Ashley Cole

Jermain Defoe

Les Ferdinand

Rio Ferdinand

Robbie Fowler

Gary Neville

Michael Owen

John Terry

Yaya Toure

Nemanja Vidic

Related content