Arsenal's Bukayo Saka and Man City's Erling Haaland battle for PFA Awards

Erling Haaland and Bukayo Saka meet again.

Arsenal's Bukayo Saka and Man City's Erling Haaland battle for PFA Awards

Izuchukwu Akawor 12:21 - 17.08.2023

Arsenal and Manchester City are set for another collision as their players Bukayo Saka and Erling Haaland go head-to-head for the 2023 PFA awards.

Erling Haaland and Bukayo Saka will fight it out two PFA awards following a double nomination for the Manchester City and Arsenal duo.

Haaland and Saka lead the list of nominees as the PFA released the names of the best players in the Premier League last season.

Both superstars will battle it out after making the PFA Players of the Year and Young Player of the Year categories.

Kevin de Bruyne could become the first three time winner of the PFA POTY award.

Haaland and Saka

It was an impressive 2022/23 season for both players as Arsenal challenged Manchester City for the Premier League title.

The Gunners put up a brave fight with Saka at the heart of it all as Mikel Arteta’s men led the league for over 240 days.

Erling Haaland scored 36 goals last season in the Premier League.

However, despite their best efforts, City came from behind with Haaland in a monstrous form to take the glory. 

City seal an unprecedented third title in a row with summer signing, Haaland, breaking all available records.

Bukayo Saka contributed 25 goals last season for Arsenal. Photo Credit: IMAGO / Pro Sports Images

The 22-year-old scored 36 goals in 35 matches to become the first-ever player to score that many goals in a single season.

Haaland ended up with 52 goals across all competitions as the Cityzens won the league, FA Cup and Champions League. 

While Arsenal missed out on the league title, Saka enjoyed an impressive productive campaign.

He scored 14 goals and assisted 11 more to help the Gunners return to the Champions League following a second-place finish.

var widgetLoaderConfig = widgetLoaderConfig || { CDN_URL: '', APP_LINK: 'desktop', API_URL: '', API_KEY: '2f852b4de2f3a5cf3188e74b33087bb4:2c18422f8e826a7d11aeed52edb2449e', LANG: 'en', REQUEST_INTERVAL: 30, ENABLE_BET_SLIP: false, AUTHOR: false, THEME: "light", TOURNAMENT_ORDER: "pulse_nigeria", LINK_OPTIONS_V2: { 'player' : { 'url': '/football/player/{playerId}' }, 'team' : { 'url': '/football/{teamId}' }, 'tournament': { 'url': '/football/competition/{tournamentId}' }, 'match': { 'url' : '/football/match/{matchId}', 'sort': { 'criteria': 'alphabetically', 'direction': 'asc' } }, 'configuration': { 'newWindow': false }, 'standings_tournament': { 'url': '/football/competition/{tournamentId}/standings' } } }; if (!document.querySelector('script[src=""]')) { window.setTimeout(function () { let scriptCss = document.createElement('link'); scriptCss.href = ''; scriptCss.rel = 'stylesheet'; scriptCss.type = 'text/css'; document.body.appendChild(scriptCss); let scriptTag = document.createElement('script'); scriptTag.src = ''; scriptTag.defer = true; scriptTag.onload = function () { window.setTimeout(function () { new SMPWidgetsLoader(widgetLoaderConfig); }, 200); }; document.head.appendChild(scriptTag); }, 0); } else { new SMPWidgetsLoader(widgetLoaderConfig); }

Other PFA nominees

Meanwhile, Haaland and Saka are not the only ones nominated for both categories of awards.

The PFA lists are dominated by Arsenal who also have captain Martin Odegaard alongside Harry Kane, and John Stones. 

Gabriel Martinelli was also impressive for Arsenal in their title challenge this season

For the Young Player of the Year, Saka’s teammate, Gabriel Martinelli will hope to be the first Brazilian to claim the title but apart from his teammate, he has Chelsea’s Moses Caicedo, Evan Ferguson, Haaland, and Jacob Ramsey to battle to achieve that feat.  

Related content