Nigeria beat South Africa to reach Africa Cup of Nations final

The Super Eagles of Nigeria arrived in Nigeria to a heroic welcome after AFCON 2023 || Imago

FOOTBALL Nigeria beat South Africa to reach Africa Cup of Nations final

Festus Chuma 23:05 - 07.02.2024

Super Eagles soar to AFCON final after thrilling penalty shootout victory over Bafana Bafana.

The Super Eagles of Nigeria secured a spot in the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) final by defeating Bafana Bafana of South Africa 4-2 in a penalty shootout. 

The drama unfolded after a captivating 90 minutes of regulation time, with both teams leaving everything on the field.

Nigeria took the lead in the 67th minute when Captain William Troost-Ekong confidently converted a well-placed penalty, deceiving South African goalkeeper Ronwen Williams with a precise shot into the middle of the net.

 The Super Eagles thought they had sealed the game with a 2-0 advantage when Victor Osimhen found the net with a clinical finish, but VAR intervened, overturning the decision due to a foul in the build-up play. The momentum shifted, and a penalty was awarded to South Africa.

Bafana Bafana capitalized on the opportunity, leveling the score at 1-1 as Teboho Mokoena calmly slotted the ball past Stanley Nwabili into the bottom left corner from the penalty spot.

 South Africa had a golden chance to secure the victory in regular time, but Evidence Makgopa's shot sailed high over the bar, denying them the lead.

As the match entered extra time, the intensity heightened, with both teams creating significant opportunities. 

A pivotal moment came when Moffi was brought down at the edge of the box, resulting in a red card for South Africa following the tackle.

The drama reached its peak in the penalty shootout, where Nigeria emerged victorious with a 4-2 scoreline.

Nigeria's goalkeeper, Stanley Nwabili, emerged as the hero of the shootout, making crucial saves to secure the Super Eagles' passage to the AFCON finals. 

 The three-time champions will face hosts Ivory Coast or the Democratic Republic of Congo in the final on Sunday.


Nigeria: Stanley Nwabali - Samuel Osayi Bright (Kenneth Omeruo 120+1), Calvin Chinedu Bassey, Olaoluwa Aina, Semi Ajayi, William Ekong, Alex Iwobi (Alhassan Yusuf 63), Frank Onyeka (Joe Aribo 102), Ademola Lookman (Kelechi Iheanacho 102), Moses Simon (Samuel Chukwueze 63), Victor Osimhen (Terem Moffi 110)

South Africa: Ronwen Williams - Grant Kekana, Khuliso Mudau, Mothobi Mvala, Siyanda Xulu (Mihlali Mayambela 75), Aubrey Modiba, Teboho Mokoena, Sphephelo Sithole, Evidence Makgopa, Percy Tau, Themba Zwane [(Zakhele Lepasa 75)  Nkosinathi Sibisi 117]

 Follow Pulse Sports WhatsApp channel for more news.