Kenya Police trio named in South Sudan squad for 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifiers

Kenya Police trio named in South Sudan squad for 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifiers

Festus Chuma 12:00 - 16.05.2024

Bright Stars head coach Nicolas Dupuis has named three Kenya Police FC players in South Sudan’s squad for 2026 World Cup qualifiers.

Kenya Police FC trio has been named in South Sudan's preliminary squad for next month's 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifiers against Togo and Sudan. 

South Sudan's senior men's national team will face Togo away in Lome on Wednesday, June 5th, before returning home to host Sudan in Juba on Tuesday, June 11th.

Among the players named are Rashid Toha, Tito Okello, and Charles Ouma. 

Toha, a stalwart defender for Kenya Police, has been a consistent presence in the senior national team and has captained the side on several occasions. 

Okello, the leading goalscorer in the FKF Premier League, has also been a mainstay for the national team bringing his prolific scoring ability to the international arena.

 Ouma, receiving his second call-up, aims to solidify his position in the national team after debuting in the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against São Tomé and Príncipe.

Additionally,Paul Jawa, a player for National Super League side Rainbow FC, has been a key figure for South Sudan's U20 team. 

His experience from the U20 AFCON in Egypt earlier this year adds depth to the squad.

Another notable inclusion is former AFC Leopards player Asaad Musa whose experience and skills will be valuable in the upcoming matches.

South Sudan is in Group B alongside DR Congo, Senegal, Sudan, Togo, and Mauritania. 

The Bright Stars has had a challenging start, losing 4-0 to Senegal and drawing goalless with Mauritania leaving them at the bottom of the group standings with one point. 

The upcoming matches are crucial for South Sudan to redeem their campaign and aim for their first World Cup appearance.

The winners of each group will directly qualify for the tournament, and the four best runners-up will advance to the CAF Play-Off tournament, with the winner securing a spot in the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

South Sudan full squad:

Goalkeepers: Majak Mawith, Godwill Yugusuk, Anyama Joseph, Juma Geanro Awad

Defenders: Wayi Godfrey, Atendele Mawa, Wani Ivan, Rashid Toha, Okocha Rashid, Peter Maker, Samuel Taban, Akok Akoi, Gadafi Wahab, Dhata Joseph, Jackson Morgan, Musa Asad

Midfielders: Charles Ouma Sila, William Gama, Joseph Malish, Chol Peter

Forwards: Yuel Kuach, Loki Emmanuel, Machop Chol, Okello Tito, Aguek Manyluak, Paul America, Alfred Leku, Madit Mayor, Emmanuel Juwang, Ayom Majok

Follow us on X (Twitter) for more updates.