All winners of the Lagos City Marathon

Some of the winners of the Lagos city Marathon

All winners of the Lagos City Marathon

Hassan Abdulsalam 12:49 - 31.01.2023

The battle has been between the Kenyans and Ethiopians

Ahead of the eighth edition of the Gold-Label Access Bank Lagos City Marathon, athletes from east Africa are on the verge of winning this year's edition again.

Recall that nothing less than 2000 elite athletes from across the world have shown their interest in participating this year.

The race is scheduled to take place on Saturday, February 4.

The race, which spans a distance of 42 km for the full marathon and 10 km usually starts at the National Stadium in Surulere, continues along the Third Mainland Bridge, to the Lekki-Ikoyi link bridge, and finishes at Eko Atlantic.

Since the race started in 2016, it has usually been dominated by Kenyans and Ethiopians. Here are the details of all the winners from 2016 to date:

2016: Abraham Kiptum ran 2 hours and 39 minutes

The inaugural edition of the race witnessed On February 6, 2016, over 20,000 athletes will compete.

Abraham Kiptum

Kenyan National, Abraham Kiptum, completed the race in 2 hours, 16 minutes, and 21 seconds to become the first winner of the race.

Ethiopian National, Halima Hussein Kayo, who ran a time of 2 hours, 38 minutes, and 36 seconds, won the women's category.

2017: Abraham Kiptum defended his title, set a new record

Abraham Kiptum defended his title in 2017 and set a new record for the race after finishing in 2 hours, 15 minutes, and 20 seconds.

Dinke Meserete

Rodah Jepkori Tanuyi from Kenyan emerged as the first-place winner in the women's category

2018: Kenyan Abraham Kiprotich wins with 2 hours, 13 minutes

The 2018 edition of the race witnessed French-Kenyan national Abraham Kiprotich finish the race while setting a new record time of 2 hours, 13 minutes, and 04 seconds.

Abraham Kiprotich received cheque from the then governor of Lagos State, Akinwunmi Ambode

In the women's category, Ethiopian Alemenesh Herpha Guta emerged as the winner.

2019: Ethiopians dominate

Ethiopians dominated the 2019 edition of the race as Sintayehu Legese won the male category with 2 hours, 17 minutes, and 28 seconds, while Dinke Meserete finished first in the women's category with 2 hours, 48 minutes, and 40 seconds.

winners of 2019 Lagos city marathon

2020: Kenyan dominates, packs all medals

Kenyan Olympian, David Barmasai emerged the winner in 2020 with 2 hours and 10 minutes.

In the women's category, Kenyan Sharon Cherop beat other women to touch the finish line in the 2 hours, 31 minutes and 16 seconds.

2021: an elite Only race

The 2021 edition of the Access Bank Lagos City was an elite-only race because of COVID-19, with only 300 athletes participating.

2021 winners

Other elite races, like London, Tokyo, and others, were also elite-only races, while many races were outright canceled.

Kenyan Emmanuel Naibei emerged as the winner with 2 hours, 15 minutes, and 04 seconds in the men's category while Meseret Dinke from Ethiopia won with 2 hours, 32 minutes, and 16 seconds.

2022: Ethiopia duo wins, dominates again

Ulfata Deresa of Ethiopia and his counterpart, Dagne Siranesh Yirga, won the seventh edition last year.

Winner of the 2022 edition with governor of Lagos and sports minister

Deresa won after running the 42 km race in 2 hours, 11 minutes, and 54 seconds, while Siranesh 2 hours, 33 minutes, and 50 seconds.

Will Kenya or Ethiopia dominate again this year?

Related content