Nigeria to battle host nation in Group A of the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup

Nigeria to battle host nation in Group A of the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup

Hassan Abdulsalam 15:30 - 23.06.2024

The host Dominican Republic are joined in Group A by Ecuador, New Zealand, and Nigeria.

Nigeria's U-17 Women's team, Flamingos has been drawn with the host nation Dominican Republic, for the 2024 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup 2024.

Dominican Republic and Nigeria, alongside Ecuador and New Zealand, make up Group A of the 2024 edition of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup.

PAY ATTENTION: Join Pulse Sports Nigeria Whatsapp Channel

The groups were announced in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, marking the country's debut as host for a FIFA tournament.

The FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup is scheduled to take place from October 16 to November 3, 2024.

Spain triumphed in the 2022 tournament, marking a remarkable feat by securing the U-17, U20, and senior women’s titles concurrently, a first in history.

Sixteen competing teams will vie for the championship, aspiring to emulate past victors such as DPR Korea, Korea Republic, France, Japan, and Spain.

While the host Dominican Republic has been drawn in Group A, reigning world champions Spain will battle the likes of USA, Korea Republic, and Colombia in tight Group B.

Here is the full list for the four groups:

Group A:

Dominican Republic, Ecuador, New Zealand, Nigeria

Group B:

Spain, USA, Korea Republic, Colombia

Group C:

Korea DPR, Mexico, Kenya, England

Group D:

Japan, Poland, Brazil, Zambia